Any … If you convert text to a shape in Illustrator, you can no longer edit it as text, but you get something else in return: total freedom in reshaping and styling the outlines. Any idea on how to achieve this? Converting a stroke into an outlined shape has many benefits. To cut the laser requires a file where the outline is continuous. Here's how: select your line, and go to the menu for Object -> Path -> Outline Stroke. Need to convert a stroke in Illustrator into a shape? However, the five methods explained on this page cut a shape in Illustrator in slightly different ways. Select the shapes you want to combine with the Selection tool in the Tools panel. Hi, I'm relatively new to Illustrator (using CS6). In Illustrator, there are line objects and shape objects. In this tutorial, I'll show you how to vectorize text in Illustrator, and how to solve a certain problem that can happen in the process. Since line objects are not easily resized or manipulated, you will want to convert your line into a shape. When converting an image into vectors, the areas of contiguous colors are converted into solid shapes. By default, Illustrator creates your first shape as a black outline with white fill. Lines are made of points, and shapes are made of boundaries. Illustrator How to Cut a Shape Using the Knife Tool. To change the fill color, click the solid box and use the slider or swatches to select the color. What you learned: Combine shapes. It should look like this: That's it! I have a complex shape created with the Pen Tool from a vendor (some shapes have strokes, others don't -- and they all combine to create one final shape). The final option for combining your shapes … Many designers outline strokes before handing off a project file to ensure the design looks the same no matter who opens it. I have attempted this using outline and using scale. I have a shape in illustrator, an outline of a guitar, and I would like to add an outline on the inside, so as to represent binding